Publish Date

FAYETTEVILLE, NC – MAY 3, 2019 – Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC) announces the 2018-2019 Excellence in Teaching and President’s Distinguished Staff Award recipients. Members of FTCC’s Faculty and Staff Council (who serve as faculty and staff representatives from the College) selected award recipients for the academic year based on reviews of all nominations submitted by peers.

The Excellence in Teaching awards recognize faculty members whose interactions with students focus on their successful development as whole persons, effective classroom environments that result in motivated students and successful learning, and innovations in teach methods including the effective use of technology. The President’s Distinguished Staff awards recognize staff members who exhibit consistent, excellent performance on the job and unselfish devotion to duty far and above normal requirements with significant contributions to the advancement of the institution and students.

FTCC’s Excellence in Teaching award recipients are Rondell Bennett, Department Chair, Early Childhood Education (Health & Public Service Programs); Lisa Williams, Music Instructor (General Education & Associate Degree Programs); Chris Herring, Department Chair, Systems Security (Business, Computer Technologies & Applied Technology Programs); and Eric Smith, Commercial Driving License Instructor (Corporate and Continuing Education Programs).

The President’s Distinguished Staff award recipients are Marlina Pineiro, Assessment Retention Support Coordinator (Professional Staff); Tracy Verrier, Administrative Assistant II, office of the Senior VP for Academic and Student Services (Operational Staff); Denise Kinnison, Facility Services Assistant (Administrative Staff); and Sylvia Green, Housekeeper (Support Staff).

Members of the Faculty and Staff Council selected Rondell Bennett and Marlina Pineiro to represent the College in their respective categories at the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS) competition during September 2019. R.J. Reynolds sponsored the NCCCS Excellence in Teaching Award, and BB&T sponsored the NCCCS Staff Member of the Year Award.

Fayetteville Technical Community College was established in 1961 and serves over 35,000 students annually by providing over 280 occupational, technical, general education, college transfer, and continuing education programs to meet students’ needs and desires as well as the community. Visit FTCC’s website at  Like us on Facebook / Follow us on Twitter @faytechcc.